November 20, 2008

  • A Psalm For A Suffering Soul

    Here is a devo I received this morning and decided to share with you all…..

    A Psalm For A Suffering Soul



    “How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide
    your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every
    day have sorrow in my heart? (Psalm 13: 1-2 NIV)

    In scripture, there are only a few brief glimpses into the very center
    of a soul. It is a rare thing to be privileged to take such a journey
    with another, for often the center of a soul is filled with suffering
    and sorrow, and it is the innermost part of a person that is well
    walled off from the outside world and often walled off from the
    individual so completely that its very existence is often questioned.

    But, there are moments when we are invited by another to that place
    and hear from the heart the pain and plight of another. Jesus took us
    to such a place one night in the garden called Gethsemane. He
    privileged us by pouring out his soul in such a way that we might see
    to the very center, and there we hear how he gave his very will to God
    for the great adventure unfolding before him, an adventure that will
    cost him in suffering and sorrow and torture and trial, and then,
    finally, death and destruction.

    The Psalmist invites us on this journey too as we are welcomed into
    the depths of his prayer and petition before God. He speaks aloud the
    very thing we dare not speak even in the darkest and deepest recesses
    of our soul.

    Prayer: Lord, I trust your steadfast love; my heart rejoices in your
    salvation. Even in the suffering of my soul, Lord, you have been good
    to me. Amen.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *