May 19, 2008

  • WORSHIP THE LORD IN SPIRIT AND IN TRUTH

    "Awake, awake, O Zion, clothe yourself with strength. Put on your
    garments of splendor, O Jerusalem, the holy city. The uncircumcised
    and defiled will not enter you again. Shake off your dust; rise up,
    sit enthroned, O Jerusalem. Free yourself from the chains on your
    neck, O captive Daughter of Zion. (Isaiah 52:1-2 NIV)

    Have you had days when you heart was too heavy to worship? Maybe the
    pain had been almost unbearable or the bills were coming in and
    finances were strained. Or there could have been days when no one
    seemed to understand the pain you were going through and you feel so
    lonely.

    It's during these very difficult times that we need to worship. God
    will reach out to us in our pain and trials of life. He can bring us
    peace these painful times. We must remember that what is important
    is that we use our pain to draw closer to God. He is still there
    even when we feel He is so far away.

    When life seems so empty, God still loves His children and we must
    strive not to let trials dictate how and when we worship God. He has
    promised that all things will work for the good for those who love
    Him and are called for His purpose. We don't always understand how
    He will do this, but remember He has been there in the past and He
    will be there in our future.

    In this life pain and disappointment are inevitable. But how we
    handle our setbacks and disappointments shape our character and
    prepare us for eternity. No matter what trial or pain we may go
    through in this life, God is with us. He is a present help in our
    time of trouble. Never let the world make you feel that God does not
    care or that He has abandoned you. He has promised to heal the
    brokenhearted and to bind up their wounds. He is talking about You
    and Me. What a joy to know this is true.

Comments (8)

  • This is so true!  I had been feeling down the past week because of all the stuff going on in my life, but last night, our church had a praise and worship service, and it did so much to lift my spirit! 

  • This blog reminds me of John 16:33...

    "...In this world you will have trouble, but take heart, I have overcome the world." 

    Thank you for this timely reminder!

  • This is very true, and as always with your devotionals it spoke directly to me. Thank you!

  • Right on.  I think it is easy to forget that God uses trials not to distance us from him but to draw us closer. 

  • You are so right. I came across a verse that talked about the scarfice of praise. That is what I call it when I praise Him when I do not feel like it.

  • A very good word, Susan! Oh my, yes, I've had times when my heart was so heavy that I couldn't pray or worship ... that's when I press on as in labor, hard as it may be, into that point of sacrifcial praise and thanksgiving ... and His peace does come! Trials do serve to strenghthen our faith, and to bring us closer to Him.

    RYC: I'm sorry I haven't been over in awhile, but this editing just takes so much time! I've really missed visiting ... I did catch up on some reading here, and with your Funny Friday post ... that was great! We all need a good hearty dose of laughter at the end of a 'trying' week! Hope your day is going well ... I miss the days of homeschooling! I still have all my son's books and everything just as it was when we finished! I so need to get in there and purge, and clean it all out. It was an end of a season in my life that I loved, and I guess it's just been hard for me to get in there and 'close' it ... know what I mean?! I'm hoping he'll be home soon, but, only the Lord knows when that will be. I just rest in knowing that He has a plan for his life, and He's taking care of him. Well, anyway, that aside, I hope things with your mom are going well ... you are in my prayers. I read that you got a new PC for Momma's Day ... congratulations! Mine is not working very well, slow loading ... too full of photos, I suppose! I need an external hard drive to load them onto ... duh, I am clueless as to how to put that on! I'll let you know when I get my photoblog up and running ... I'm still learning how to use the new themes on it! I love this theme here ... you know I'm just a bit partial to 'sunflowers'! You have a good day, my friend, and thank you for coming by earlier!

    Hugs,
    ~ Deborah <><

  • Amen!  We have studied so much about worship this year at Bible Study & how important it is.  It's those times when we don't feel like worshipping that we need to the most! 

    Have a great Wed!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment