November 19, 2008

  • Obedience Acceptable to God


    “Believers obey Christ as the one by whom our obedience is accepted by God.  Believers know all their duties are weak, imperfect and unable to abide in God’s presence.  Therefore, they look to Christ as the one who bears the iniquity of their holy things, who adds incense to their prayers, gathers out all the weeds from their duties and makes them acceptable to God.”

     - John Owen, quoted by Jerry Bridges in The Discipline of Grace (Colorado Springs, Co.: NavPress), 42.

Comments (6)

  • The Discipline of Grace is one of my favorite books! :)

  • Great quote, Susan … yes, we are imperfect creatures, but I’m so thankful that Christ bears our iniquities, cleanses us from all unrighteousness, and makes us acceptable to God our Father! Amen! RYC: Thanks for your comment … and glad that you liked that devo! My husband still hasn’t found his wallet … I’m hoping it shows up soon! Thank you for those prayers! You have a great Thursday, my friend!

    Blessings,
    ~ Deborah <><

  • We are so incredibly blessed to call Christ “Saviour” for without Him nothing we do would be acceptable to God.

  • Hey I like the new picture of you and your man……very nice. ;)

  • That was a great quote. I love your new pic!  Thanks for keeping up with me, hope to be back posting regularly now!  Love ya - Marcy

  • SSusan, what a wonderful devotion!  I have never read that book but I want to now.  and, I love the new picture, too!!!! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *